Dallas Soccer DFW

Bruno Guarda, Jay Needham Named to the Hermann Trophy Semifinalist List

Published 11/11/2006 10:41:38 AM by SMU from SMU Website

Finalist List Announced on Nov. 27

DALLAS (SMU) - SMU's Bruno Guarda (Piricicaba, Brazil) and Jay Needham (Ft. Worth, Texas) are among the 15 players named as semifinalists for the 2006 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy. Considered to be college soccer's version of the Heisman Trophy, the winner of the award is selected by NCAA Division I coaches who are members in good standing with the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

The winner will be determined in voting by NSCAA Division I member coaches. Three men's and three women's finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 27. The winners will be announced at a banquet in St. Louis, Mo., hosted by the Missouri Athletic Club on Saturday, Dec. 2, where they will be presented with the prestigious crystal soccer ball which has come to symbolize the highest individual achievement in intercollegiate soccer.

Former SMU standout Luchi Gonzalez was the recipient of the Hermann Trophy in 2001.

© www.SoccerDFW.com 2020