Dallas Soccer DFW

FC Dallas tops KC 2-1

Published 5/13/2007 2:51:09 PM by Staff from MLSnet.com

Dario Sala, making his first start in goal since last season, helped stymie the Kansas City Wizards on Saturday night at Arrowhead Stadium, leading FC Dallas to a 2-1 victory.

Sala was credited with nine saves on the night before he was finally beaten by a Michael Harrington header off a free kick in second-half stoppage time, but not unitl Kenny Cooper and Juan Toja had given the Hoops all the goals they would need.

It was the first regulation win for Dallas at Arrowhead Stadium in more than eight years, since Sept. 19, 1998.  FC Dallas almost found themselves behind early when the Wizards had an excellent chance. Jose Burciaga Jr. sent a 25-yard free kick toward goal and Sasha Victorine headed it on target, but Sala got his hands to it to concede a corner kick in the second minute.

The Hoops nearly broke through in the 11th minute when forward Abe Thompson, starting in place of Carlos Ruiz, fed a streaking Ramon Nunez. But Nunez's shot from just outside the penalty area hit the crossbar and bounded back onto the field.  But it was just a sign of things to come. From a throw-in, Thompson flicked the ball to Dax McCarty, and his service into the area found Cooper. Cooper rose above Wizards center back Nick Garcia and sent a looping header over Kevin Hartman as he vainly tried to swat it away, giving FCD the lead.

The 19th-minute goal ended the Wizards' shutout streak at 306 minutes. Hartman has been in goal for the Wizards for the entire streak.  While FC Dallas were the aggressor over the final part of the half, a quality chance fell to Kansas City midfielder Sasha Victorine from well outside the area. But Sala wasn't troubled, in perfect position to stop the shot.

The Hoops doubled their lead in stoppage time before the break. Nunez sent a long curling ball from the right flank to Toja, who went racing into the penalty area. Despite claims of a handball from the Wizards, Toja brought the ball down in front of Wizards right back Jack Jewsbury and stroked a left-footed roller past Hartman and inside the right-hand post.

The Wizards had many chances to respond, but when they found the target with their efforts, Sala was right in position to stop the ball.  The home side nearly broke through again in the 56th minute, sending a barrage of shots at the goal. Jewsbury ignited the attack by sending a shot that Sala fumbled. Wizards midfielder Kerry Kavagnin returned the rebound goalward and once again Sala deflected it.

Yura Movsisyan joined the rebound shot party and sent yet another try toward Sala. Sala turned it aside yet again, and Movsisyan tried one more time, but this time sailed his opportunity over the net.

Davy Arnaud sent a blast of a shot towards Sala in the 60th minute, and the Argentinean 'keeper was again there to hang on to the powerful drive. He was shaken up for a few minutes, but remained in the game.

Sala was helped out by a stalwart defensive performance by the back line. They persistently broke up offensive attacks and shadowed Wizards attackers.

But Kansas City finally broke through in the first minute of stoppage time after the full 90 minutes. Arnaud put in a free kick from the left wing and Harrington headed it past Sala to spoil the shutout bid, though FC Dallas still put an end to their two-game losing streak.

FC Dallas (3-3-1) vs. Kansas City Wizards (4-2-0)
May 12, 2007 -- Arrowhead Stadium

Scoring Summary:
DAL -- Kenny Cooper 3 (Dax McCarty 2, Abe Thompson 1) 19
DAL -- Juan Toja 1 (Ramon Nunez 2) 46+
KC -- Michael Harrington 2 (Davy Arnaud 2) 91+

FC Dallas -- Dario Sala, Drew Moor, Clarence Goodson, Alex Yi, Chris Gbandi, Dax McCarty (Bobby Rhine 84), Ramon Nunez (Marcelo Saragosa 74), Pablo Ricchetti, Juan Toja, Kenny Cooper (Carlos Ruiz 73), Abe Thompson.

Substitutes Not Used: Arturo Alvarez, Shaka Hislop, Dominic Oduro, Blake Wagner

Kansas City Wizards -- Kevin Hartman, Jack Jewsbury, Nick Garcia, Aaron Hohlbein, Jose Burciaga Jr. (Ryan Pore 71), Davy Arnaud, Sasha Victorine (Kurt Morsink 83), Kerry Zavagnin, Michael Harrington, Eddie Johnson, Yura Movsisyan.
© www.SoccerDFW.com 2020