Dallas Soccer DFW

Dallas Cup kicks off Sunday

Published 3/20/2018 12:11:49 PM by staff from dallas

It's that time of year again.  Dallas Cup kicks off on Sunday with a full slate of matches and three marquee matchups at the Cotton Bowl in Fair Park.  Defending Super Group champions Fc Dallas will kick things off at the Cotton Bowl at 12:30 when they face Arsenal. What a way to get things started right?  After that fans will be treated to CF Monterrey against Brazilian side EC vitoria.

The annual “Welcome World” Opening Ceremonies and Parade of Nations, featuring all 224 Dr Pepper Dallas Cup XXXIX teams, will start at 5:00pm.  Ticket prices for the opening day triple-header, and all stadium games, range from $15 for adults to $5 for youths 13 and under. Following the opening ceremonies is a clash between Premier League giant Manchester United and Liga MX champion Tigres at 6:30pm.

Additional games will be played throughout the week, free of charge, at the Classic League Soccer Complex at Richland College, and MoneyGram Soccer Park in Northwest Dallas. The Super Group semifinals will be played on Friday, March 30 at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, which will also host championship matches of all age groups on Saturday, March 31 and Sunday, April 1.

Group A
Manchester United (England)
Tigres (Mexico)
Higashi Fukuoka (Japan)
Toronto FC (Canada)

Notable Group A Facts: Manchester United is making their fifth Super Group appearance, but the world-renowned academy is still seeking their first title in the elite bracket. Current Liga MX champion, Tigres, have a long history at the Dallas Cup, including two Super Group titles and 11 championships across all age groups. Higashi Fukuoka will make their tournament debut in 2018 looking to become the first Asian team to win the prestigious Super Group. Current MLS champion, Toronto FC, is making their third Dallas Cup appearance hoping to become the first Canadian champion across all age groups since 1988.

Group B
EC Vitoria (Brazil)
CF Monterrey (Mexico)
Real Oviedo (Spain)
Atlanta United (USA)

Notable Group B Facts: Two-time Super Group champion EC Vitoria won back-to-back Super Group titles in 1996 and 1997, a rare feat only four teams have accomplished since the creation of the elite bracket. Last year’s Super Group runner-up, CF Monterrey, has the most Dallas Cup championships all-time, but are still seeking their first Super Group title. Tournament debutant, Real Oviedo, looks to become the first Spanish Dallas Cup champion since Real Madrid’s back-to-back titles in 1993 and 1994. Emerging MLS academy power, Atlanta United, hopes to become the second consecutive MLS academy side to hoist the Super Group championship trophy and the third U.S. Super Group champion overall.

Group C
Arsenal (England)
Queretaro (Mexico)
Red Bull Brasil (Brazil)
FC Dallas (USA)

Notable Group C Facts: Arsenal hopes to build upon their last appearance in the elite bracket back in 2011, a team that advanced to the semi-finals, before bowing out to eventual champion Eintracht Frankfurt. Queretaro FC looks to win their first Super Group title after claiming the U14 and U17 titles in 2017. Red Bull Brasil returns to the Dr Pepper Dallas Cup for the second consecutive year after debuting in the tournament last spring. FC Dallas returns to the Gordon Jago Super Group to defend their title. The local side defeated CF Monterrey, 2-1, in the 2017 Super Group final.

© www.SoccerDFW.com 2020